The triumviate

S gully threads the snow on lookers left.  Mt lawrence grassi, eginning of May

S gully threads the snow on lookers left. Mt lawrence grassi, beginning of May

Ian shevalier and myself were rock climbing in heart canyon, and I commented on the pitch of easy ice still hanging by one crag.  The next day we were planning to ski miners, then crag; and he challenged me to do the trimviate; ski, ice, rock, in a day.  Miner’s didn’t happen, but the next time we received a marginal re-freeze I headed up miner’s gully…an area visible from my home in canmore.  I waited to hear back from a potential partner for a bit, but they didn’t eventuate, so I set off a bit late, at 7am.  Miners gets alot of solar first thing so I booked it up, and was dropping in circa 0840, goopy snow but just in time.  In relief I gained the bottom of S gully, and after deliberating a wee while went for it, dodging small rocks and minor wet sluffs off the small solar aspect wall, mainly by staying up on the high left bank.

S gully is marked, accessed by miners gully, out of sight but coming in from the left

S gully is marked, accessed by miners gully, out of sight but coming in from the left

ships prow, canmore.  still looking at the very beginning of an early may meltdown

ships prow, canmore. still looking at the very beginning of an early may meltdown

 

IMG_1727

The shady wall offered, surprisingly, settled pow, and big corn carves on the lower apron were great.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cWGF7sBLzKU&feature=youtu.be

A walk down mountain bike tracks had me wishing for more equipment, with a bike and kayak I could make a real day of it!

I hitched back to the car and had a swim in the dam, which was super refreshing.  I love jumping in cold water, often it is the least inviting thing; always worth it. You feel more alive than ever afterwards; 100%; thoroughly invigorated.   The car was almost boxed in; there’d been no on else around and I’d left it sideways.  The place was teeming with calgarians

IMG_1733

swim?  rude not to.  it was stinking hot...!

swim? rude not to. it was stinking hot…! That I haven’t seen the sun for six months is glaringly obvious!

s gully on left.  the ledge looks exposed but contrary to appearances, fall line is down along it, not off the edge.

s gully on left. the ledge looks exposed but contrary to appearances, fall line is down along it, not off the edge.

Again, I had a partner bail on me, this time for climbing.  not to worry, I simply shot over home, fired up the barby, and invited my old farming neighbour for saskatchewan over for a beer.  Full an sleepy, I then relaxed with a book, baking in the sun, every now and then looking up to gaze at my tracks.  The rest of day proceeded between relaxation and industry…cleaned the house, changed the tyres(it sure didnt feel like we’d need winter rubber again), and watched avalanches pour off the peaks innthe afternoon sun.  It wasn’t till seven that soph got home, and nicely agreed to belay me, so we shot off at 1930 hours and I still got myi ce and rock pitch in!  Luckily they were very easy because it was getting dark.

 

IMG_1756 IMG_1760

lac des arc...heading back home, into the mountains at 10:15pm...and it's not even summer!

lac des arc…heading back home, into the mountains at 10:15pm…and it’s not even summer!

A good day, though would have been good to kayak and bike, to somewhat match the more extreme chamonix classic(ski, ice, rock, bike, paraglide- in one day).

I do think my favourite was back home on the edge of Fiordland though…dawn surf, driv to borland saddle, hike, snowboard a couloir and back in time to bike down the road…and with time enough for another surf ( didn’t …should have!)

 

About ruari

a lover of the beauty of the mountains, coast and other wild open spaces. An adventurer and high-level snowboard freerider / snowboard mountaineer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

