FWT14 – Europe videos and wrap-up

1654377_10152239074181660_598261900_n

Cormayeur comp run: http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x1a3t82_fwt14-ruari-macfarlane-courmayeur-mont-blanc_sport

Chamonix comp run:
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x1aacfe_fwt14-ruari-macfarlane-chamonix-mont-blanc_sport

Fieberbrunn/Kappl comp run:
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x1bor16_fwt14-run-of-ruari-macfarlane-fieberbrunn-staged-in-kappl-tirol_sport?search_algo=1

Kappl judges debrief:
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x1b5wf9_fwt14-journal-ep15-judge-debrief_sport?search_algo=1

Well, what a big month. gotta say, its been pretty emotional. I’ve high fived more new and old friends covered in powder than I could tell you, consumed the best cheese, bread and wine, watched blood red sunrises over the chamonix aguilles from the aiguille rouge, , enjoyed 9 different ski areas without paying a cent, judged my first comp, and slept, wined and dined in 4 star hotels, and explored icy couloirs by headlamp.

I have also had sleepless nights before comps, been yelled at by angry italians and kicked out while sleeping on a train station bench (to finish my sleep esconsed in my boardbag in a bush), exhausted most of my (very) hard-earned savings for the tour, and crashed riding out the flats to the finish line in two out of three comps. I have been stranded late night in new towns with nowhere to stay, beat myself up repeatedly over my competition results, grown sick of packing and hauling my boardbag somewhere new every two days, considered flying home early, and explored icy couloirs by headlamp.

DCIM100GOPRO

first air taken by me on the fwt ever, and by anyone on the fwt14.  courmayeur cornice tap

first air taken by me on the fwt ever, and by anyone on the fwt14. courmayeur cornice tap

Overall, a really great trip, and Im truly thankful to have had this opportunity. Plus I escaped the cold and drought in Canada for the same month! But, we all have bad days, bad seasons, and for all us who feel they haven’t lived up to their potential in the tour this year, a bit of a sense of failure shadows all the quieter moments of reflection(but is nowhere to be found on powder days thankfully)!
Being told by judges I would have podiumed or won in Courmayeur or Cham without those stupid falls on the flats is not neccessarily helpful. 11,000 euros and a tour lead would be nice, but a fall on the flats is just that; dumb, poor riding, and punished accordingly. I would really like not to have to return to ski patrolling in -25 C for $12/hr next winter.

i also attended engadinsnow fwq, thinking that if I got a good result I would try for a couple more, to ensure FWT for next year.  However, one of my worst comp runs ever, including triggering the slab avalanche visible here(which would have been really bad if it had run a little further, over the edge of the bench and over the cliffs) put me in 13th, making my descision not to do the fwq easy.  Realistically, I can't fford tio do the fwt A fwq.

i also attended engadinsnow fwq, thinking that if I got a good result I would try for a couple more, to ensure FWT for next year. However, one of my worst comp runs ever, including triggering the slab avalanche visible here(which would have been really bad if it had run a little further, over the edge of the bench and over the cliffs) put me in 13th, making my descision not to do the fwq easy. Realistically, I can’t afford to do the fwt And fwq.

colin boyd getting into the best season mt corvatsch, suisse has had in half  a centuary

colin boyd getting into the best season mt corvatsch, suisse has had in half a centuary

 

IMG_4222

IMG_4215

verona

verona

italian alps

italian alps

no end of signs in deutsch a kiwi may find amusing

no end of signs in deutsch a kiwi may find amusing

IMG_4179

the north of the alps is dry this season...innsbruck, austria

the north of the alps is dry this season…innsbruck, austria

with fabian lentsch, flo orley, colin boyd and friends, over 3000m up in engadin

with fabian lentsch, flo orley, colin boyd and friends, over 3000m up in engadin

IMG_4172

which way to Chur, bro?

which way to Chur, bro (its on the sign)?

suoper stoked to run into Wally 'wallish' Brugheli! with colin boyd, apres in engadin

suoper stoked to run into Wally ‘wallish’ Brugheli! with colin boyd, apres in engadin

Walllly! most positive person to shred with ever

Walllly! most positive person to shred with ever

second for second, the audi ice driving was the most retardedly fun part of europe. I could not wipe the manic grin from my face, and neither could these boys.  team kiwi pose with mr julien lopez, the french were pretty good and rallying actually!  Im got 5th in the race, charlie (hiding behind sam) got first

second for second, the audi ice driving was the most retardedly fun part of europe. I could not wipe the manic grin from my face, and neither could these boys. team kiwi pose with mr julien lopez, the french were pretty good and rallying actually! Im got 5th in the race, charlie (hiding behind sam) got first

IMG_4097

innsbruck.  I loved austria

innsbruck. I loved austria

with sam lee and dan bond in cham, cheers for the support boys

with sam lee and dan bond in cham, cheers for the support boys

L' aigulle Vert et le Dru

L’ aigulle Vert et le Dru

le dru

le dru

part of cham venue, mt blanc lurks in the background (see my mt blanc post for riding the north face du Mt Blanc in 2012)

part of cham venue, mt blanc lurks in the background (see my mt blanc post for riding the north face du Mt Blanc in 2012)

Conor Pelton leaves the gate

Conor Pelton leaves the gate

IMG_3972

someones fwt courmayeur run, on the flats where i hit old avy debris under the snow and blew it.

someones fwt courmayeur run, on the flats where i hit old avy debris under the snow and blew it.

Courmayeur is one of my favourite places in Italy for good reason

Courmayeur is one of my favourite places in Italy for good reason

the ,magnificent aiguille Noir

the ,magnificent aiguille Noir

athletes scoping courmayeur venue

athletes scoping courmayeur venue

dropping straight to the bar in courmayeur

dropping straight to the bar in courmayeur

couloir back to the hotel door.ideally you would take 2x 60m ropes if possible, not 1x 30m. An adventure.

couloir back to the hotel door.ideally you would take 2x 60m ropes if possible, not 1x 30m. An adventure.

Johannes, Raphi, Felix, heading home from a sumptious welcome dinner.  the waiting period in courmayeur was great, we rode fresh pow every day,

Johannes, Raphi, Felix, heading home from a sumptious welcome dinner. the waiting period in courmayeur was great, we rode fresh pow every day,

IMG_3873

the split glacier is pretty incredible

the split glacier is pretty incredible

IMG_3830

IMG_3828

Aosta, first few hoyrs in europe. welsome back.  I love this valley.

Aosta, first few hoyrs in europe. welsome back. I love this valley.

IMG_3809

 austria takes pride in her buildings and it shows, with old,  well preserved pubs like this. yet another after party.

austria takes pride in her buildings and it shows, with old, well preserved pubs like this.
yet another after party.

photo credit fwt

photo credit fwt

photo sam lee

photo sam lee

75% of team kiwi...with mates neil williman and charlie lyons at Courmayeur

75% of team kiwi…with mates neil williman and charlie lyons at Courmayeur

1454855_10203197729083514_775485456_n

I got lost on my only crash free run, leading to a mid pack result, which with my 10th and 11th placing at Courmayeur and Cham means I really need to stick a couple of aggressive runs cleanly in the next two stops to even make verbier, let alone a high result on the FWT. But I have a strategy. I have been offered a green runner lesson by sunshine snowboard school, maybe they can teach me how to stay on my feet through the mellow stuff! 🙂

I’m also stoked to be home, with my girlfriend, amongst the empty, stark, pure Rocky Mountains of Canada, with heaps of fresh at Kicking Horse to ‘train’ with. See you at the bird…

About ruari

a lover of the beauty of the mountains, coast and other wild open spaces. An adventurer and high-level snowboard freerider / snowboard mountaineer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FWT14 – Europe videos and wrap-up

  1. Boyd says:

    Awesome trip bro! Let’s rip it back here in North America!

    • ruari says:

      those front threesies off that nose in the sun at snowbird were pretty fun man! best of the resort riding I had in the states this year, that day!

Leave a Reply

